Listed Information

Alonzo-Minutti, Ana. (Research Faculty)alonzo-minutti

Associate Professor, Music

Email: aralonso@unm.edu

Department Website: https://finearts.unm.edu/faculty/ana-alonso-minutti/

 

 

 

Avila, Magdalena. avila-magdalena

Email: avilam@UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://cpr.unm.edu/administration/people-profiles/magdalena-avila.html

 

 

 

Baca, Dorothy.baca-dorothy

Department of Fine Arts

Email: dbbaca@UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://finearts.unm.edu/faculty/dorothy-baca/

 

 

 

Ballejos, Marlene. ballejos-marlene

Dept of Family & Community Medicine

Email: mballejos@SALUD.UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://fcm.unm.edu/administration/people/profiles/marlene_ballejos.html

 

 

Belmonte, Alfonso.belmonte-alfonso

Department of Pediatrics

ABelmonte@SALUD.UNM.EDU

 

 

 

 

Belmonte, Laura. (Research Faculty)belmonte-laura

Assistant Professor: Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies

Email: lbelmonte@unm.edu

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/laura-e.-belmonte.html

 

 

 

Blum-Martinez, Rebecca.Blum-martinez

Department of Language, Literacy, & Social Studies Faculty & Staff

Email: rebeccab@UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://coehs.unm.edu/departments-programs/llss/language-literacy-sociocultural-studies/faculty.html#facrebeccab

 

 

Borrego, Matthew, Elvin. borrego-matthew

Dept. College of Pharmacy

Email: mborrego@SALUD.UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://vivo.health.unm.edu/display/n2896

 

 

 

Cacari -Stone, Lisa. carcari-stone

Department-College of Population Health Leadership & Faculty

Email: lcacari-stone@SALUD.UNM.EDU 

Department Website: https://hsc.unm.edu/population-health/faculty/

 

 

 

Careaga-Coleman, Doris.  (Research Faculty)careaga-coleman

Visiting Lecturer

Department: Chicana and Chicano Studies

Email: careaga@unm.edu

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/doris-careaga-coleman.html

 

 

Castillo, Tim.castillo-tim

Department of School of Architecture and Planning

Email: timc@UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://saap.unm.edu/faculty-staff/faculty/tim-b-castillo/index.html

 

 

 

Celedón-Pattichis, Sylvia. (Research Faculty)celedon-pattichis

Professor: College of Education | Language Literacy and Socio-Cultural Studies | Bilingual/ESL

Email: sceledon@unm.edu

Department Website: https://coe.unm.edu/departments-programs/llss/language-literacy-sociocultural-studies/faculty.html

 

 

Cornejo, Kency.cornejo-kency

Department of Art History

Email: kcornejo@UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://art.unm.edu/profile/kency-cornejo/

 

 

 

Covarrubias, Patricia. covarrubias-patricia

Department of Chicana & Chicano Studies

Email: pocb@UNM.EDU

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/index.html

 

 

 

Hall-Kells, Michelle. hall

Associate Professor, Rhetoric & Writing- UNM

Department: English; MSC 03-2170 Humanities 325

Email: mkells@unm.edu

Department website: https://english.unm.edu/about-us/people/faculty/kells-michelle-hall.html

Michelle Hall Kells is Associate Professor in the Department of English at the University of New Mexico where she teaches graduate and undergraduate classes in Rhetoric and Writing.  Kells received the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library Research Fellowship in 2008.  Kells served as Program Chair of the Writing Across Communities (WAC) initiative at UNM 2004-2014.  She is currently Program Chair for the National Consortium of Environmental Rhetoric and Writing (an affiliated organization of the Rhetoric Society of America). Kells also serves as Project Chair of the Salt of the Earth Recovery ProjectKells’s scholarship centers of the public rhetoric of citizenship. Her research interests include public rhetoric (civil rights and environmental discourses), language diversity, sociolinguistics, and community writing studies.    

Kells is lead editor of Attending to the Margins: Writing, Researching, and Teaching on the Front Lines (Heinemann, 1999) and Latino/a Discourses: On Language, Identity, and Literacy Education (Heinemann, 2004). Her work is featured in the journals TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching, JAC, Written Communication, Journal of Reflections, Journal of Community Literacy, Praxis, and Rhetoric & Public Affairs as well as a number of edited books including Cross-Language Relations in Composition, Dialects; Englishes, Creoles, and Education; Who Belongs in America?: Presidents, Rhetoric, and Immigration. Kells is the author of Hector P. Garcia: Everyday Rhetoric and Mexican American Civil Rights (Southern Illinois University Press, 2006).  Her recent book release is Vicente Ximenes, LBJ’s “Great Society,” and Mexican American Civil Rights Rhetoric (Southern Illinois University Press, 2018).  

For me, SHRI represents: a constellation of intellectual, spiritual, and academic partners, colleagues, and friends working together toward a more just, inclusive, and representative learning community at UNM.

 

Hernandez-Duran, Ray.  (Research Faculty)hernandez-duran

Professor, Spanish Colonial Art and Architecture, Arts of Nineteenth Century Mexico, and Museum Studies

Department: College of Fine Arts UNM ART

Email: hernand@unm.edu

Department Website: http://art.unm.edu/profile/ray-hernandez-duran/

   

Lovata, Troy. lovato-troy

lovata@UNM.EDU 

  

 

 

 

 

Montoya, Manuel. [Julian R.]  (Member)montoya

Associate Dean, Planetary Decision-making & Inclusion, University College; Associate Professor: International Management, FITE Department Professor of Creative Enterprise University of New Mexico, Anderson School of Management: Department of Finance | International Technology and Entrepreneurship

Email: mrmonto@unm.edu   

Department Website: https://www.mgt.unm.edu/fite/facultyDetails.asp?id=10320

Dr. Montoya’s research focuses on how we make the planet a more meaningful part of our economic, cultural and political realities — especially as it relates to the more particularistic ways of being in the world.  He has traveled and worked in 67 countries and delivered over 100 lectures worldwide.  He is UNM’s first Latinx Rhodes Scholar and is also a Truman Scholar.  He received his BA (Economics and English) from UNM, his MLItt (Philosophy) from Oxford University, and his PhD (Comparative Literature and Foreign Relations) from Emory University.  He is from Mora, New Mexico and has written several short stories and published a book of poetry - The Promethean Clock.   

What SHRI means to you.  SHRI is the space where Latinx faculty have a forum to discuss important issues related to the intersection of Latinx and Hispanic issues.  It is a place where issues of equity and inclusion can be discussed and where people can find ways for their teaching, research, and service to have an impact on the communities that support the vital role Hispanic culture and Latinx people play in making UNM a special place in the tapestry of our shared heritage.

 

Montoya, Theresa. montoya-margaret

montoya@LAW.UNM.EDU

 

 

 

 

 

Nogar, Anna M.  (Research Faculty)nogar-anna_sq

Associate Professor: Spanish and Portuguese G

Director of Graduate Studies: Spanish and Portuguese

Email: anogar@unm.edu

Department Website: https://spanport.unm.edu/about/people/anna-nogar.html

 

 

Rivera, José A. (Emeritus Faculty)rivera-jose

Research Scholar: Center for Regional Studies

Email: jrivera@unm.edu

Department Website: http://crsinfo.unm.edu/people.html

 

 

 

Romero-Legott, Valerie. romero-valery

Email: vromero@SALUD.UNM.EDU

 

 

 

 

 

Sanchez, Gabriel, Ramon. sanchez-gabriel

sanchezg@UNM.EDU

 

 

 

 

 

Sierra, Christinesierra-christine                                                

Professor Emerita, Political Science

Department: Political Science

Email: csierra@unm.edu

Christine Marie Sierra is Professor Emerita of Political Science at the University of New Mexico, where she taught for 28 years. Dr. Sierra was the third Mexican American woman to receive a Ph.D. in political science in the nation (Ph.D. 1983 Stanford University). She has been a guest scholar at the Brookings Institution, the University of Arizona, and the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University. As an expert in American and Latino/a politics, she appears frequently in local, national, and international media. She served as Director of the Southwest Hispanic Research Institute at the University of New Mexico from 2011 – 2014. In 2018, she was honored by the Latino Caucus of the Midwest Political Science Association with a Distinguished Career Award. That same year, the Latino Caucus of the American Political Science Association presented her with the Manuel Maldonado-Denis Trailblazer Award and cited “her outstanding original contribution and Lasting Impact on Scholarship in Latina/o Politics.”

WHAT SHRI MEANS TO ME: An academic and collegial home during my many years at UNM. Irreplaceable as a source of intellectual inspiration and personal support from many colleagues whose friendships I have treasured.

 

Department Website: https://spanport.unm.edu/about/people/damian-vergara-wilson.h

 


 Avalos, Adan.

aavalos@UNM.EDU

 

Candelaria, Michael.

Department-Religious Studies Program

Email: mcandel@UNM.EDU

Department Website: http://religious-studies.unm.edu/people/michael-candelaria.html

 

DelCampo, Robert. 

delcampo@UNM.EDU

  

Dow Velarde, Lily Ann.

livelarde@SALUD.UNM.EDU

 

Fedelina -Chavez, Alicia . 

afchavez@UNM.EDU

 

Flores-Dueñas, Leila. (Research Faculty)

Associate Professor: College of Education | Teacher Education & Educational Leadership and Policy | Elementary Education

Email: lflores@unm.edu
Department Website: https://coe.unm.edu/departments-programs/teelp/faculty-information.html

 

Florez, Viola. 

vflorez@UNM.EDU 

 

Fuentes, Claudia Diaz.  (Research Faculty)

Senior Lecturer III: BA/MD Curriculum Committee

Department: Economics ECON 10325

Email: claudiaf@unm.edu

Department Website: https://econ.unm.edu/people/Faculty/profile/claudia-diaz-fuentes.html

 

Forbes -Isais, Geraldine. 

gforbes@UNM.EDU

 

Gandert, Miguel. 

mgandert@UNM.EDU

 

García y Griego, Manuel. (Research Faculty)

Associate Professor: Department of History; Director UNM Land Grant Studies Program

Department: History – Mesa Vista Hall 1075

Email: mgarciay@unm.edu

Department Website: https://history.unm.edu/people/faculty/profile/manuel-garcia-y-griego.html

 

Gomez, Myrriah. 

myrriahg@UNM.EDU 

 

Gonzales, Moises.

mgonzo1@UNM.EDU

 

Gonzales, Phillip. 

gonzales@UNM.EDU 

 

Gutierrez-Gomez, Cathy. 

cggomez@UNM.EDU

 

Huerta, Gabriel. 

ghuerta@STAT.UNM.EDU

 

Ibarra, Robert. 

raibarra@UNM.EDU

 

Iriart, Celia. 

ciriart@SALUD.UNM.EDU

 

Lamadrid, Enrique.  (Research Faculty)

Professor Emeritus

Department: Spanish and Portuguese Distinguished Professor of Spanish

Email: lamadrid@unm.edu

Department Website: https://spanport.unm.edu/about/people/enrique-lamadrid.html

 

Lopez, Miguel. 

miglopez@UNM.EDU

 

Lopez, Nancy. (Research Faculty)

Professor: Director and Co-founder, Institute for Study of “Race” and Social Justice

Department: Sociology

Email: nlopez@unm.edu

Department Website: https://sociology.unm.edu/people/faculty%20profile/Nancy%20Lopez.html

 

 

Meléndez, Gabriel. (Research Faculty)

Distinguished Professor: Department of American Studies

Director: Center for Regional Studies

Email: Gabriel@unm.edu

Department http://americanstudies.unm.edu/people/faculty/mel%C3%A9ndez.html

 

 

Ornelas, Renee.

rornelas@SALUD.UNM.EDU

 

Perea, Patricia. (Research Faculty) 

Visiting Lecturer

Department: Chicana and Chicano Studies

Email: pereapm@unm.edu

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/patricia-marie-perea.html

 

Pereda, Brenda M.  (Research Faculty)

Clinician Ed-Assoc Prof: OB GYN Reproductive Health and Family Planning

MSC 10 5580 Location HSC

Email: BrPereda@salud.unm.edu

Department Website: https://vivo.health.unm.edu/display/n10236

  

Ramos, Mary.

mramos@SALUD.UNM.EDU 

 

Ramirez de Arellano, Ariana.  (Research Faculty)

Lecturer III: Women Studies Program

Graduate Advisor: Women Studies Program

Email: ardap@comcast.net

Department Website: http://womenstudies.unm.edu/people/index.html

 

Rebolledo, Tey Diana. 

dreb@UNM.EDU

 

Reyes, Bárbara O. (Research Faculty)

Emeritus: Associate Professor

Department of History: MSC06 3760; Mesa Vista 1073

Email: breyes3@unm.edu

Department website: https://history.unm.edu/people/faculty/profile/barbara-reyes.html

 

 

Rodriguez, Barbara. 

brodrig@UNM.EDU

 

Rodriguez, Ilia. 

ilia@UNM.EDU 

 

Romero, Levi. (Research Faculty)

Assistant Professor: Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies

Email: xlromero@unm.edu

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/levi-romero.html

Levi Romero, is Assistant Professor in the Chicana and Chicano Studies department at the University of New Mexico. His most recent book is Sagrado: A Photopoetics Across the Chicano Homeland (co-authored with Spencer Herrera and Robert Kaiser). His two collections of poetry are A Poetry of Remembrance: New and Rejected Works and In the Gathering of Silence. His book publications have received numerous awards, including a 2015 International Latino Book Awards, Honorable Mention, 2014-2015 Southwest Book Award, New Mexico Arizona Book Award, Writers’ League of Texas Book Award, Finalist, and a Best Books of the Southwest. In 2017 he received two Society for Humanistic Anthropology Poetry Award Honorable Mentions. He is also the recipient of several NEA and NEH grant awards. He was awarded the post of New Mexico Centennial Poet in 2012. His poem writing exercise, “De donde yo soy,” based on the original poem, Where I’m From, by George Ella Lyon, was published by Scholastic as part of a nationwide educational project and has been used extensively, nationally and internationally. He has co-directed two films on acequia culture. Bendición del agua, premiered at the National Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Elko, Nevada, and Going Home Homeless won a People’s Choice Award at the Taos Shortz Film Festival. Romero is from the Embudo Valley of northern New Mexico.

What SHRI means to me: SHRI provides a strong academic support system for Chicana/o faculty at the University of New Mexico. SHRI nurtures an atmosphere of inclusivity among its members and creates opportunities for collaboration. 

 

 

Rosas-Lopategui, Patricia.  (Research Faculty)

Assistant Professor: Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies

Email: paty585@unm.edu

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/patricia-rosas-lopategui.html

 

 

Sanchez, Rebecca. 

sanchezr@UNM.EDU 

 

Sanchez, Victoria. 

visanchez@SALUD.UNM.EDU 

 

Santiago, Eleuterio. 

esantia@UNM.EDU 

 

Santos, Richard. (Research Faculty)

Professor: Department of Economics

Email: santos@unm.edu

Department Website: https://econ.unm.edu/people/Faculty/profile/richard-santos.html

 

Sedillo -Lopez,  Antoinette. 

lopez@LAW.UNM.EDU

 

 

Sosa -Provencio, Mia, Angelica. 

msosaprovencio@UNM.EDU 

 

Torrez-Velasquez, Diane. 

vlasquez@UNM.EDU

 

 Torres, Eliseo. -“Cheo”  (Research Faculty)

Vice President, Student Affairs

Department: UNM Administration (DOSA) MSC05 3410 Main Campus

Email: cheo@unm.edu

Department Website: https://studentaffairs.unm.edu/about-us/osa-staff.html

 

 

Trujillo, Leon Michael. (Research Faculty)

Associate Professor: Department of American Studies and Chicana and Chicano Studies

Email: mltruj@unm.edu
Department Website: http://americanstudies.unm.edu/people/faculty/trujillo.html

 

Uvina, Francisco. (Research Faculty)

Interim Director, Historic Preservation + Regionalism Certificate Program

Department: School of Architecture + Planning

Email: fuvina@unm.edu

Department Website: https://saap.unm.edu/faculty-staff/faculty/francisco-uvina/index.html

   

Valdez, Otto, Robert. (Research Faculty)

Professor: Department of Economics

Associate Director: Office of Community Health

Email: ROValdez@salud.unm.edu

Website: https://econ.unm.edu/people/Faculty/profile/robert-valdez.html

 

Vásquez, Irene. (SHRI Director)

Department Chair of Chicana and Chicano Studies; American Studies; Director of SHRI

Department: Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies and Southwest Hispanic Research Institute

Email: ivasquez@unm.edu

Department Website: https://chicanos.unm.edu/people/faculty/irene-vasquez.html

 

Vaquera-Vasquez, Santiago. 

svaquera@UNM.EDU 

 

Vigil, Jacob Miguel. (Research Faculty)

Associate Professor: Lead Researcher in Pain and Cannabis Studies (2019) University of New Mexico. PH.D., University of Missouri-Columbia, 2007

Department: Psychology- Evolution and Development, Health Psychology

Email: vigilj@unm.edu

Department Website: https://psych.unm.edu/people/faculty/profile/jacob-m-vigil.html

 

Vizcaino-Aleman, Melina. (Member)

Associate Professor

Department: English

Email: mviz@unm.edu

Department website: https://english.unm.edu/about-us/people/faculty/vizcaino-aleman-melina.html

Melina Vizcaíno-Alemán received her PhD in American Studies in 2010 from the University of New Mexico with concentrations in race, class and ethnicity, and the cultural and literary history of the Southwest and Chicana studies. She has published in the journals of Southwestern American Literature, Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies, Southern Literary Journal, and Western American Literature. Her book, Gender and Place in Chicana/o Literature: Critical Regionalism and the Mexican American Southwest, was published in 2017 by Palgrave Macmillan as part of the Literatures of the Americas Series. She teaches courses on twentieth-century American literature, the Southwest, and Chicano/a cultural studies, with attention to identity formation and the politics of representation.

What SHRI means to you: The demands of academic life limit our mobility across disciplines and departments. SHRI is truly interdisciplinary and brings together diverse fields and viewpoints that illustrate the strength of cross-discipline dialogue and community-building. This cross-cultural and interdisciplinary flexibility is precisely why I pursued my academic interests in American Studies, and it is why I maintain membership in SHRI as a Chicana faculty member in the English Department.

 

Werner-Washburne, Margaret. [Maggie]  (Research Faculty)

Emeritus: Department of Biology

Email: maggieww@unm.edu

Department Website: https://biology.unm.edu/core-faculty/werner-washburne.shtml

 

Wilson, Damián. (Research Faculty)

Associate Professor: Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Coordinator of Sabine Ulibarri Spanish as a Heritage Language Program

Email: damianvw@unm.edu