Southwest Hispanic Research Institute :: UNM

Southwest Hispanic Research Institute :: University of New Mexico

Contact Us


Director: Barbara Reyes, PhD

Administrator:

MSC02 1680
1 University of New Mexico
1829 Sigma Chi Road NE
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
phone: 505/277-2965
fax: 505/212-0342
email: shri@unm.edu

Affiliated Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

Jesse Alemán (bio)
Professor, English
Coordinator, American Literary Studies
email: jman@unm.edu

Magdalena Avila
Assistant Professor, Health, Exercise & Sports Science
email: avilam@unm.edu

Dorothy Baca (bio)
Professor, Theatre and Dance
Head of Design for Performance
email: dbbaca@unm.edu

Marlene Ballejos (bio)
Assistant Professor, Department of Family & Community Medicine
Assistant Dean for Admissions, School of Medicine Office of Admissions
email: mballejos@salud.unm.edu

Rebecca Blum-Martínez
Professor, Language Literacy and Sociocultural Studies
Director, Multicultural Education Center; Latin American Programs in Education (LAPE)
email: rebeccab@unm.edu

Matthew E. Borrego (bio)
Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice & Administrative Science
email: mborrego@salud.unm.edu

Lisa Marie Cacari-Stone (bio)
Associate Professor of Health Policy, Family and Community Medicine
email: lcacari-stone@salud.unm.edu

Sylvia Celedón-Pattichis (bio)
Professor, Bilingual/ESL
email: sceledon@unm.edu

Michael Candelaria
Lecturer III, Religious Studies Program

email: mcandel@unm.edu

Jose Canive (bio)
Professor, Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Director, Psychiatry Research New Mexico VA Health Care System
email: jmcanmd@salud.unm.edu

Tim Castillo (bio)
Associate Professor, Architecture & Planning
Director, ARTS Lab
email: timc@unm.edu

Alicia Fedelina Chavez
Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership & Organizational Learning
email: afchavez@unm.edu

Patricia Covarrubias (bio)
Associate Professor, Communication and Journalism
email: pocb@unm.edu

Robert DelCampo (bio)
Assistant Professor: ASM Organizational Studies
Associate Dean: ASM Organizational Studies
email: delcampo@mgt.unm.edu

Josephine De Leon (bio)
Vice President for Equity and Inclusion
email: jdeleon@unm.edu

Tobías Durán
Director, Center for Regional Studies
email: tduran@unm.edu

Erika Fernandez (bio)
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics/Neonatology
Director, Neonatology Education Outreach
email: efernandez@salud.unm.edu

Leila Flores-Dueñas
Associate Professor: Dept of Teacher Education
email: lflores@unm.edu

Viola (Vi) Flórez (bio)
Professor, Educational Leadership & Organizational Learning
PNM Endowment Chair
email: vflorez@unm.edu

Geraldine Forbes Isais (bio)
Dean, School of Architecture & Planning
email: gforbes@unm.edu

Miguel Gandert (bio)
Distinguished Professor, Comumunication & Journalism
Director, Interdisciplinary Film and Digital Media, Communication & Journalism
email: mgandert@unm.edu

L.M. García y Griego (bio)
Associate Professor, History and Chicana/Chicano Studies
Director, Land Grant Studies
email: mgarciay@unm.edu

Laura Gómez (bio)
Professor, Law and American Studies
email: lgomez@unm.edu

Phillip (Felipe) Gonzales (bio)
Professor, Sociology
email: gonzales@unm.edu

Moises Gonzales (bio)
Assistant Professor, Community and Regional Planning
email: mgonzo1@unm.edu

Elmer Gonzales (bio)
Lecturer II, Dental Medicine
email: Eeonzales@salud.unm.edu

Cathy Gutiérrez-Gómez
Associate Professor, Individual, Family and Community Education
email: cggomez@unm.edu

Roberto A. Ibarra (bio)
Associate Professor, Sociology
email: raibarra@unm.edu

Celia B. Iriart (bio)
Assistant Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine
Senior Fellow, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Center for Health Policy
email: cIriart@salud.unm.edu

Michelle Hall Kells
Associate Professor, English
email: mkells@unm.edu

Miguel Lopez (bio)
Associate Professsor, Spanish & Portuguese
email: miglopez@unm.edu

Nancy López (bio)
Associate Professor, Sociology
Co-Director: Institute for the: Study of Race & Social Justice
email: nlopez@unm.edu

Antoinette Sedillo López (bio)
Professor, Law
Temp Part Time Faculty, UC Student Academic Choices
email: lopez@law.unm.edu

A. Gabriel Meléndez (bio)
Distinguished Professor, American Studies
Chair, American Studies
email: gabriel@unm.edu

Manuel Montoya (bio)
Assistant Professor, Global Structures, Finance, International, Technology and Entrepreneurship
email: mrmonto@unm.edu

Anna Nogar (bio)
Assistant Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
email: anogar@unm.edu

Renee Ornelas (bio)
Professor, Clinical Education
Director, Para Los Niños
email: rornelas@salud.unm.edu

Mary M. Ramos
Research Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Schools Health Officer, NM Department of Health
email: mramos@salud.unm.edu

Barbara O. Reyes (bio)
Associate Professor, History
Director, Women Studies
email: breyes3@unm.edu

José A. Rivera
Professor, Architecture and Planning
Research Scholar, Center for Regional Studies
email: jrivera@unm.edu

Barbara Rodríguez (bio)
Associate Professor, Speech & Hearing Sciences
email: brodrig@unm.edu

Ilia Rodríguez (bio)
Associate Professor, Communication & Journalism
email: ilia@unm.edu

Valerie Romero-Leggott (bio)
Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine
Vice Chancellor for Diversity, UNM Health Sciences Center; Associate Dean, UNM School of Medicine Office of Diversity
email: vromero@salud.unm.edu

Gabriel Ramon Sanchez (bio)
Assistant Professor, Political Science
Assistant Director, RWJF Center for Health Policy
email: sanchezg@unm.edu

Rebecca Sanchez
Associate Professor, Teacher Education
email: sanchezr@unm.edu

Victoria Sanchez (bio)
Associate Professor, Family and Community Medicine
email: ViSanchez@salud.unm.edu

Eleuterio Santiago-Diaz (bio)
Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
email: esantia@unm.edu

Richard Santos
Professor, Economics and Public Administration
email: santos@unm.edu

Eliseo "Cheo" Torres (bio)
Vice President for Student Affairs
email: cheo@unm.edu

Ruth Galván Trinidad (bio)
Assoicate Professor, Language, Literacy & Sociocultural Studies
email: trinidad@unm.edu

Michael L. Trujillo (bio)
Associate Professor of American Studies and Chicana and Chicano Studies
email: mltruj@unm.edu

Robert Otto Valdez (bio)
Executive Director, RWJF Center for Health Policy
Associate Director, Office of Community Health
Professor, Family and Community Medicine and of Economics
email: roValdez@salud.unm.edu

Cristobal Valencia (bio)
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology
email: cvalen02@unm.edu

Santiago Vaquera-Vasquez (bio)
Assistant Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
email: evaquera@unm.edu

Luis Vargas (bio)
Associate Professor, Psychiatry-Child and Adolescent Division
email: lvargas@salud.unm.edu

Irene Vasquez (bio)
Director: American Studies
email: ivasquez@unm.edu

Lily Ann Dow Velarde (bio)
Vice Chair for PH and Med, Department of Family and Community Medicine
Practicum Director: Masters in Public Health Program
email: livelarde@salud.unm.edu

María Vélez (bio)
Associate Professor, Sociology
email: mvelez@unm.edu

Jacob M. Vigil (bio)
Assistant Professor, Psychology
email: vigilj@unm.edu

Margaret C. Werner-Washburn
Regents' Professor, Biology
email: maggieww@unm.edu

Damian Wilson (bio)
Lecturer III, Spanish Portuguese
Coordinator: Heritage Language Program, Spanish Portuguese
email: damianvw@unm.edu

Emeriti Status SHRI Faculty